Home |

Documenting the Immigrant: U.S. Immigration Policy Past, Present, and Future

This one-day conference, hosted by ISS, will bring scholars from multiple disciplines together with policy activists, journalists, and individuals connected to the legislative environment to explore U.S. immigration policy since 9/11 and address the implications for immigration policy of the Trump presidency.

Friday, January 27, 2017

8:30 A.M. - 4:00 P.M.

ARC Ballroom, UC Davis


8:30-8:45: Continental Breakfast


8:45-8:55: Conference Welcome


8:55-10:25: Borderlines: Life, Death and Being Latina/o

Robert Irwin, UC Davis (Department of Spanish)

Rene Rocha, University of Iowa (Department of Political Science)

Maria Del Carmen Pantoja, UC Davis (Department of Political Science)

Dinah Bear (Humane Borders) 

Moderator: Kristina Flores-Victor, UC Sacramento Center


10:25-10:35: Break 


10:35-12:05: Detained, Deported, and Threatened: A Roundtable

Anna Sampaio, Santa Clara University (Departments of Ethnic Studies and Political Science)

Margaret Regan, Tucson Weekly (journalist and author)

Moderator: Bradford Jones, UC Davis (Department of Political Science)


12:05-12:45: Lunch


12:45-2:05: DACA, DAPA and Deportation Threat

Barbara Pinto, Centro Legal de la Raza (Immigration Senior Staff Attorney)

Faye Hipsman, Migration Policy Institute (Policy Analyst and California Program Coordinator)

Andrea Gaytan, UC Davis (Director, AB 540/Undocumented Student Center)

Melissa Keaney, National Immigration Law Center (Immigration Attorney)

Moderator: Melissa Michelson, Menlo College (Department of Political Science)


2:05-2:15: Break


2:15-4:00: 15 Years Later: Immigration Policy Post 9/11 and What’s Ahead in the Trump Administration

Kevin Johnson, UC Davis (School of Law)

Giovanni Peri, UC Davis (Department of Economics)

Celeste Montoya, University of Colorado (Department of Women and Gender Studies)

Stephen Nuño, Northern Arizona University (Department of Political Science)

Ali Noorani, National Immigration Forum

Philip Martin, UC Davis (Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics)

Moderator: Karthick Ramakrishnan, UC Riverside (School of Public Policy)


View the poster.